The Island of Hispaniola is divided into two parts . The eastern, larger portion constitutes the Dominican Republic that covers 2/3 of the island with a total from 48,679km2 . The western adjacent country is Haiti. The Dominican Republic has around 9,000,000 inhabitants and receives yearly around 3,000,000 tourists from all over the world.

The Dominican Republic has a stable democracy and presidential elections are held every 4 years .

The official currency is the Dominican Peso. But US dollars and Euro are accepted in many places. It is easly to change money locally. Dominican banks offer accounts in Pesos , USD and Euros.

Language: spanish

Visas: Visitors who do not obtain a Dominican visa prior to entry must purchase a tourist card upon arrival to enter the country. Tourist cards cost 10.- U.S. dollars, which must be paid in U.S. currency. Tourist cards may be purchased at the Dominican Embassy  or Dominican consulates prior to arrival, as well as at Dominican airports at the time of entry. Tourist cards normally permit a legal stay of up to 60 days. Visitors who would like to extend their time in the Dominican Republic should visit the Migration Department in Santo Domingo and request an extension. Failure to request an extension will subject the visitor to a surcharge at the airport upon departure. The surcharge, assessed on a sliding scale, ranges from $30 for one month to as high as $500 for five years. 

cpt logo footer

© 2013 / ICU Events GmbH. All Rights Reserved.